If you have completed all the quests at the location, a timer will appear on the location icon. You will still be able to return to the location and collect more resources while the time is up. But after the time expires, the location will be closed.
Don't worry if you didn't have time to collect all the resources. All the quests on this location are completed, and now new and interesting adventures await you.