Local saves reside on your device. In case you change your phone or the save file gets corrupted you will lose your progress. Cloud saves are safely stored on our servers. By authenticating with your Facebook account you can move your progress on a new device or restore in case you re-install the application. You are also protected in case the safe file gets corrupted so we highly encourage you to enable cloud save in the application settings.